Patrick’s development blog

Chat application

Posted in Uncategorized by Patrick on March 24, 2008

My next project I have in mind, is going to be a chat application in C++. This is project is originally something we’re doing in school and I chose to make an internet chat with a server and a client. I haven’t thought out all the details about the project yet, but I started on it a couple of weeks ago. In the beginning, I had decided to use SDL because it’s easy to use when making graphical applications and it also has SDLnet for networking. My plans has changed however.

In order to implement a GUI, I decided to use the Win32 API together with C++. I know from experience that Win32 coding is quite nasty and extremely hard, so I hope i’ll pull it off somehow.

Leave a Reply

